IFAB Clarification of the Goal Kick Law (Law 16)

Goal Kick Video – Aug 2019 August 2019 – IFAB Clarification of Goal Kick Law 16

Many people will have seen the recent game where the Benfica goalkeeper chipped a goal kick to a defender who then headed it back to him (see attached video).

There has been considerable debate whether or not this contravened the laws.

Along with some other points regarding goal kicks, IFAB have confirmed that this trick – although it does not contravene the laws as currently written – is not allowed.  If this occurs in a game, the goal-kick should be retaken without any further action taken against the players involved

Speak Your Mind

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Swansea Referees Society © 2009-2019 · Designed by: CiaoWeb · Log in