IFAB Clarification of the Goal Kick Law (Law 16)

Published on 4 August, 2019 
By: Mark Williams

Goal Kick Video - Aug 2019 August 2019 - IFAB Clarification of Goal Kick Law 16

Many people will have seen the recent game where the Benfica goalkeeper chipped a goal kick to a defender who then headed it back to him (see attached video).

There has been considerable debate whether or not this contravened the laws.

Along with some other points regarding goal kicks, IFAB have confirmed that this trick - although it does not contravene the laws as currently written - is not allowed.  If this occurs in a game, the goal-kick should be retaken without any further action taken against the players involved

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Search this site

Follow us on Facebook
Swansea Referees' Society
Copyright © 2010- 2022
WordPress Design by CiaoWeb